Queer Discussion Groups

The queer discussion groups are weekly, hour-long, low-commitment groups focusing on topics related to sexual and gender identities. Check out our Spring 2022 groups below!

 

Queer Discussion Groups


Welcomes LGBTQ+ graduate students from all of Emory's schools to form community around the full spectrum of queer identities and queer life. Join us weekly for informal conversation around the intersections of our identities, current events, and more.

Tuesdays at 5:30 PM ET
AMUC 132

Facilitator(s):

Connor Larsen (connor.larsen@emory.edu)

Yemko Pryor (yemko.pryor@emory.edu

 

This group provides a space for students of Latinx/Hispanic heritage who identify as LGBTQ to share their experiences and explore the intersections of their identities.

Thursdays at 5PM ET
AMUC 132

Facilitator(s):

Paul Cruz Jr. (paul.cruz.jr@emory.edu

Isabella Montealegre (isabella.montealegre@emory.edu

Focusing on students, this discussion group explores the experiences of bisexual and pansexual people at Emory, including the joys and challenges. The group is open to all students who identify as a bisexual or pansexual.

Fridays at 6PM ET
AMUC 132

Facilitator(s):

Catherine Aniezue (caniezu@emory.edu)

This group provides a space for students who identity as queer men to engage in weekly conversation and support. 

Wednesdays at 7 PM EST

Facilitator(s):

Esteban Ancona (esteban.jose.ancona@emory.edu)

Angel Barrueta (angel.alberto.barrueta.i@emory.edu)

 

Welcomes queer black students to join us weekly for conversation. This group provides a space for any black students who also identify as LGBTQ to explore the intersections of their identities.

Thursdays at 7PM EST

Facilitator(s):

Destinee Gulley: (destinee.jenae.gulley@emory.edu.)

This group was created to support Emory students who identify as queer women or non-binary aligned with womanhood. This includes but is not limited to lesbian, bisexual, and transgender Emory community members.

Thursdays at 6PM EST

Facilitator(s)

Jayden Behling (jayden.behling@emory.edu)

Marley Goldman (marley.goldman@emory.edu)

Provides opportunities for students to explore and celebrate the intersections of sexual identity, gender identity, and Asian heritage and culture. The group is open only to people who identify as queer and Asian, however they choose to define it.

Tuesdays at 7 PM ET

Facilitator(s):

Trisha Sengupta (trisha.sengupta2@emory.edu)
Advik Bhara (andy.chen@emory.edu)

This group is open to students who are questioning their gender or identify as trans in any way, including non-binary, genderqueer, agender, etc. 

Fridays at 5PM ET

Facilitator(s):

Miles Sterling (miles.sterling@emory.edu)

This group explores ways to celebrate our identities and navigate a predominantly white, hetero/gender normative campus as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, and/or intersex students of color.

If you are interested in facilitating this group, please email Danielle Bruce Steele danielle.bruce.steele@emory.edu

This student organization and discussion group supports students who self-identify on the asexual and/or aromantic spectrums, as well as all students who may be questioning.

Mondays at 5PM ET

Facilitator(s):

Katie Stachowicz (Katie.stachowicz@emory.edu)

Open to students who identify as polyamorous (actively or not).

If you are interested in facilitating this group, please email Danielle Bruce Steele danielle.bruce.steele@emory.edu