People and Staff

Safe Space Facilitators


The Safe Space training program relies on a group of dedicated members of the Emory community to volunteer their time. Below is information about our current facilitators. We accept applications for new facilitators each spring and summer, and you can view the position description here. If you are interested in applying to become a Safe Space facilitator, please contact Jackie Veliz at jackie.veliz@emory.edu or fill out the form.

Danielle Bruce-Steele
Director of LGBT Life
danielle.bruce.steele@emory.edu 

Jackie Veliz
Program Coordinator of LGBT Life 
jackie.veliz@emory.edu

Ed Lee
Senior Director for Alben W. Barkley Forum for Debate, Reliberation & Dialogue
ewlee@emory.edu

Becka Shetty
Associate Director for Leadership & Transitions Programs
rebecca.shetty@emory.edu

Natalie Turrin
Assistant Director of Center for Women
natalie.turrin@emory.edu

Natasha Hopkins
Associate Director of Student Involvement
natasha.hopkins@emory.edu

Carson Banks 
Program Coordinator of Leadershp & Transitions Programs
carson.banks@emory.edu

Huong Truong 
Coordinator of Sorority and Fraternity Life
huong.truong@emory.edu 

The Safe Space Program expanded to include Oxford College in 2014.

Megan Pendleton
Director of Diversity and Inclusion
megan.pendleton@emory.edu

Lyn Pace
Chaplain
ppace@emory.edu

Michele Hempfling
Director of Residential Education and Services
michele.hempfling@emory.edu