People and Staff

Safe Space Facilitators

The Safe Space training program relies on a group of dedicated members of the Emory community to volunteer their time. Below is information about our current facilitators. We accept applications for new facilitators each spring and summer, and you can view the position description here. If you are interested in applying to become a Safe Space facilitator, please contact Jackie Veliz at or fill out the form.

Danielle Bruce-Steele
Director of LGBT Life 

Megan Pendleton
Assistant Director of LGBT Life 

Jackie Veliz
Program Coordinator of LGBT Life 

Ed Lee
Senior Director for Alben W. Barkley Forum for Debate, Reliberation & Dialogue 

Becka Shetty 
Associate Director for Transition & Leadership Programs 

Natalie Turrin
Coordinator for Gender and Sexuality Programs 

Natasha Hopkins
Associate Director of Student Involvement

The Safe Space Program expanded to include Oxford College in 2014.

Lyn Pace

Michele Hempfling
Director of Residential Education and Services